Torch Club of The Fox Valley Torch Logo

Torch Logo


M i n u t e s
16 September 2010
Atlas Coffee Mill and Café

Jim Baumbach, Dr Al Button (Guest: Irene Strohbeen), Janet Wullner-Faiss Cloak,
Marcia & David Debbink, Bertil Engh, Leota Ester, Barbara & Bill Kelly, Amy Oberg, Bob Swain, Peter Thiel, Jan Mirenda Smith & Scott Valitchka, Pat Warrick, Donna & Len Weiss

PRESIDENT Barb Kelly called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m.

MINUTES were approved as written.

TREASURER’S REPORT: There is no change in our check book since the last meeting. The treasury shows $4,322.42. Annual member dues are to be paid now or no later than our October meeting.  The dues are $70 per member, and with new members, there is an additional $10 initiation fee.  

Al introduced his guest, Irene Strohbeen, a new member.

Len and Al reported on the Torch Youngstown convention. (Al said that he was highly impressed with it.):
Two young women will take over the Strickland position
Barb received the Silver Award
Len received the Gold Award
Our club was awarded Best in our region

We still have $2000 to spend for a “party” of some sort. Possibilities haven’t worked out despite Jan and Scott’s hard work. Lively discussion. The “money isn’t burning a hole in our pocket”—but “we don’t want to get too far away from the event (the Convention) we’re celebrating.” Barb asked that we e-mail ideas to the entire membership instead of only to her.

We adjourned at 7:07 for dinner followed by a Round Robin of Favorite Books. Janet was asked to record the choices.

Respectfully submitted,
Janet Wullner-Faiss Cloak, Secretary
©2011 Torch Club of the Fox Valley